Cranky Warlock's Blog

Song of the Day

Day One of the OSOTD project:

One of the things that helps get me through the day is music. If I need to get myself energized, there’s a song for that. If I’m depressed and just want to wallow, I can find a song for that, too. I can always find music that sends chills up my spine or brings tears to my eyes.

During the past few months, I’ve been using music to help me deal with the ups, downs, and insanity we all live with. And it struck me that perhaps I might contribute by sharing the music I’m playing with the rest of you. So, I’ve started a project called the “Occasional Song of the Day.” Every so often I’ll post a song link here that I think you might enjoy.

I’ll be using links to Spotify or YouTube. It may be that you won’t be able to play the entire song here if you are not a Spotify member. If that’s the case, and you like the music, find it on your favorite streaming service.

This is going to be a rather eclectic list. I was trained as a classical musician, but I won’t flood you with symphonies. I appreciate all kinds of music, as long as it’s done well.

I’ll start with a song by Sting called “The Shape of My Heart.” It’s a bit melancholy, but the tune is hypnotic, and the lyrics are thought-provoking. Enjoy!

Shape of My Heart